Education

Academy for Children

Pre-K to 6th Grade Education

Academy for Children Teaching Staff

We are fortunate to have a teaching staff that is passionate about your child and their learning. Each of our teachers is supported as they stay up-to-date with the latest research and best practices in Early Childhood Education. For professional development regarding dual-language education we partner with consultant Lillian Duran, Ph.D. We also work with community organizations such as The Family Conservancy and the United Way to provide staff professional opportunities through conferences, seminars, workshops, classes, and feedback sessions. These trainings prepare them to work effectively with the children and families who access our educational services.

 

Amanda Vega-Mavec, Ed.D.
Academy for Children Director
avega-mavec@elcentroinc.com

Dr. Vega oversees the academic programming at AFC. She has a B.A. in Spanish and Sociology from Wellesley College, a M.Ed. in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages from Boston University, and an Ed.D. in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies from the University of Kansas. She has experiences as a teacher at various grade levels, as well as administrative experience at public, charter, and Catholic schools.

 

Katherine Angel
Floater/Substitute Teacher
kangel@elcentroinc.com

Erica Britt
English Language Model
Crickets (3-4 yr. olds)
ebritt@elcentroinc.com

Sandra Elizondo
Spanish Language Model
Ladybugs (2.5–3 yr. olds)
selizondo@elcentroinc.com

Liliana Esteban
Spanish Language Model
Crickets (3-4 yr. olds)
lesteban@elcentroinc.com

Virginia (Vickie) Gordillo
Spanish Language Model
Dragonflies (Preschool)
vgordillo@elcentroinc.com

Irma Lara
Floater/Substitute Teacher
ilara@elcentroinc.com 

Raylynn Laster
English Language Model
Dragonflies (Preschool)
rlaster@elcentroinc.com

Veronica Luna
Spanish Language Model
Butterflies (Preschool)
vluna@elcentroinc.com

Christina Ojeda
Floater/Substitute Teacher

Theresa Owens
English Language Model
Butterflies (Preschool)
towens@elcentroinc.com

Alicia Rocha
Chef
arocha@elcentroinc.com

Diana Gandara
Receptionist

 

Marimar Gutierrez
Teacher

Hilsin Rodriguez
Floater/Substitute Teacher